October 7, 2012

Evans completes clean sweep of 2WD Qualifying

Team Losi Racing’s Dustin Evans completed a clean sweep of 2WD qualifying at the JConcepts Fall Indoor Nationals, the World Championship finalist picking up where he left off yesterday to TQ the third & final round of qualifying in Buggy, Short Course and Stadium Truck.  With no one able to out pace Evan’s TLR cars around the RC Excitement track the 2011 US National Champion looks to be firmly on target to defend the three titles he won here last year in Fitchburg however the Colorado driver says he is taking nothing for granted as with single A-Mains one mistake can easily cost you the win.

Having sewn up the overall TQ honours in Q2, Evans used the last 2WD Buggy qualifier to try a brand new set of JConcepts blue Bar Codes.  His first time since Friday’s practice to run an unscrubbed set of tyres on his Orion powered TLR22, he said at first they were a little ‘skatey’ but there after felt good and so for this evening’s 8-minute Main he plans to continue with the same set.  Commenting on the race Evans said getting through the first section of jumps cleanly is going to be key to the race as there is a good chance with the field piling into the corner there is going to be contact.  While he hasn’t looked like a serious threat in terms of his 5-minute qualifying pace, Evans believes Hartson is strong with bad luck in the heats hindering the true pace of the factory Associated driver.

Although he had a tough final 2WD Buggy qualifier, young star Alex Kosciuszek will start third on the grid backing up his 2nd position on the grid in 4WD Buggy. Enjoying his best run of the weekend in Q3, setting the second fastest time for the round, Andrew Castellini will line-up fourth for the final followed by Jason Ruona who set the third fastest time in Q3 with Gunner Rieck completing the Top 6 on the 11 car grid, the winner of the 6-minute B-Main getting to bump up to main event.

2WD Mod Buggy A-Main Grid
1. Dustin Evans – Team Losi Racing
2. Steven Hartson – Associated
3. Alex Kosciuszek – Associated
4. Andrew Castellini – Associated
5. Jason Ruona – Associated
6. Gunnar Rieck – Associated
7. Mike Gay – Associated
8. Toddie Anderson – Team Losi Racing
9. Mike Wilder – Associated
10.Rob Betts – Kyosho

View our event photo gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: