Neumann & Maifield win A3 to claim runner-up spots

2wd Mod Top 3

Team Durango’s Joern Neumann and Associated’s Ryan Maifield won the third A-main of 4WD and 2WD Buggy respectively to claim the runners up spot in the blue ribbon classes of the 27th Proline Cactus Classic.  With Maifield successfully defending his 4WD title and Jared Tebo securing the 2WD title in the second A-Main, both A3 Mains were 9-car affairs.  In 2WD Top Qualifier Naoto Matsukura led away the field but as in the opening two mains he would fall back down the field eventually coming home 6th.  Taking over the lead on lap 3, Maifield would stay there till the end to take the win by .9 of a second from Tamiya Racing Factory’s Lee Martin, the European Champion who started 5th on the grid setting the fastest lap of the race.  Claiming his best finish of the finals Cavalieri completed the Top 3 but it wasn’t enough for a podium with the final step going to TLR’s Dustin Evans thanks to his 2nd & 4th place finishes in the opening legs.


A3 of 4WD, the closing race of yet another successful event in the history of America’s longest running international race, would cap off a frustrating weekend for World Champion Ryan Cavalieri.  Again the Top Qualifier would lead the way and look in control of proceedings but with Neumann close behind his B44.2 would roll on the high traction sugar treated SRS Raceway track dropping him to second before a second roll would drop him to third behind Matsukura.  A driver who impressed everyone with his natural speed, a pace that helped him secure TQ honours in 2WD against the best in the sport in their own backyard, the young Japanese driver set the fastest lap of the race as he hauled in European Champion Neumann setting up a final lap showdown but coming the straight he got out of shape leaving Neumann to win by just over 1-second.  The result secured him second overall with Cavalieri, who finished all 3 legs in third, to claim third overall.

Red RC would like to thank Proline for making our second visit to the prestigious Cactus Classic possible and to Team Associated for providing us with media centre (and much needed liquids) for the weekend.

2WD Mod Buggy Overall Result
1. Jared Tebo – Kyosho/Orion – 200 pts
2. Ryan Maifield – Associated/Reedy – 199
3. Dustin Evans – TLR/Orion – 196
4. Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo/Yokomo – 195
5. Lee Martin – Tamiya/Speed Passion – 195
6. Ryan Cavalieri – Associated/Orion – 194
7. Steven Hartson – Associated/LRP – 191
8. Travis Amezcua – Durango/Viper – 190
9. Cody Turner – Kyosho/Orion – 186
10.Joern Neumann – Durango/Speed Passion – 185

2WD Mod Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Result
1.(3) Ryan Maifield – Associated/Reedy – 15/5:12.111
2.(5) Lee Martin – Tamiya/Speed Passion – 15/5:13.013
3.(4) Ryan Cavalieri – Associated/Orion – 15/5:14.249
4.(10)Steven Hartson – Associated/LRP – 15/5:17.810
5.(8) Travis Amezcua – Durango/Viper – 15/5:21.960
6.(1) Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo/Yokomo – 15/5:31.243
7.(9) Cody Turner – Kyosho/Orion – 14/5:00.017
8.(6) Dustin Evans – TLR/Orion – 14/5:15.403
9.(7) Joern Neumann – Durango/Speed Passion – 14/5:16.153
10.(2)Jared Tebo – Kyosho/Orion – DNS

4WD Mod Buggy Overall Result
1. Ryan Maifield – Associated/Reedy – 200 pts
2. Joern Neumann – Durango/Speed Passion – 199
3. Ryan Cavalieri – Associated/Orion – 196
4. Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo/Yokomo – 194
5. Dakotah Phend – TLR/Orion – 194
6. Carson Wernimont – Durango/Reedy – 192
7. Lee Martin – Tamiya/Speed Passion – 191
8. Jared Tebo – Kyosho/Orion – 190
9. Dustin Evans – TLR/Orion – 186
10.Travis Amezcua – Durango/Viper – 184

4WD Mod Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Result
1.(2) Joern Neumann – Durango/Speed Passion – 16/5:18.916
2.(5) Naoto Matsukura – Yokomo/Yokomo – 16/5:20.086
3.(1) Ryan Cavalieri – Associated/Orion – 15/5:02.000
4.(4) Dakotah Phend – TLR/Orion – 15/5:04.354
5.(6) Carson Wernimont – Durango/Reedy – 15/5:06.048
6.(7) Jared Tebo – Kyosho/Orion – 15/5:07.556
7.(10)Lee Martin – Tamiya/Speed Passion – 15/5:09.189
8.(8) Dustin Evans – TLR/Orion – 15/5:14.196
9.(9) Travis Amezcua – Durango/Viper – 15/5:16.669
10.(3)Ryan Maifield – Associated/Reedy – DNS

View the event image gallery here.

Categories - Electric, Events, International, Off Road, Racing


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or formatted results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry.

Live Event Updates

Recent Posts


The most important electric offroad race of the year, we are attending the 2016 Reedy Offroad Race of Champions at OCRC Raceway in Huntington Beach, California. Won last year for the first time by Ryan Maifield, the invitational class is a who's who of top racers from around the World, all of whom have had to qualify to compete in this unique heads up race format. Red RC's coverage begins in full on Thursday afternoon (21st) and we will be trackside bringing you reports, insights, videos and photos directly from the track throughout the week.

Like Red RC on Facebook

Follow Red RC on Twitter