January 25, 2015

Reedy title hots up as Tebo & Maifield win again


With just two of the 12 rounds of heads up racing remaining, the battle for the 21st running of the Reedy Race of Champions at OCRC Raceway in Huntington Beach is hotting up into a duel between Jared Tebo and Ryan Maifield.  Round 4 of 4WD would see both drivers bring their tally’s to 3 wins which when dropped scores are taken into account puts the pair equal at the top of the points although now it is Maifield who holds the tie-break advantage due to him having the fastest combined 2WD & 4WD race times.  For defending champion Ryan Cavalieri the round saw him lose further ground, while impressive from 9th on the grid, he could only finish 2nd with his hopes of a hat trick of consecutive Reedy titles starting to fade. Interestingly the penultimate round will be the first time in 4WD that Maifield and Tebo start in the same race, with the grid draw putting the TLR driver 4th and the Kyosho 8th.


Starting Race 1 from pole, Maifield converted that into a easy win over the Durango of Travis Amezcua the gap at the end of the 5-minutes being 2.7 seconds.  The entertainment for the large crowd of onlookers would be provided by Ty Tessmann and Carson Wernimont, the HB and Associated drivers switching back and fort as they fought over third place.  With the outcome decided on the last lap it was Tessmann’s D413 which completed the Top 3.


In Race 2, pole sitter Joona Haatanen crossed the loop for the first time in the lead from Tebo and Steven Hartson but next time round it was the two World Champion who took up the lead battle. Despite a closing Hartson, Tebo stayed in control taking the win by 0.355 seconds. Former champion Dustin Evans would get a third, his TLR22-4 having started from the 6th spot.  Another former champion in the race was Joern Neumann but it was a tough encounter for the German as he finished 5th effectively ending his slight outside chance of a second title.


The round was completed by a win for TLR’s Dakotah Phend.  The 17-year-old, starting from 6th, went to the front on lap 3 and cruised to a convincing 6.4 second lead from Cavalieri who having come from 9th on the grid was unable to do anything about the 2WD US National Champion’s lead once he got by Cody King and Billy Easton.  King, who had started on pole, would take his Kyosho to 3rd for his best result of 4WD.

View our event image gallery here.


January 25, 2015

Tebo opens final day at Reedy Race with important win


Jared Tebo opened the final day at the Reedy Race of Champions with an important win that when dropped scores are taken into account puts the Kyosho driver in the lead from overnight leader Ryan Maifield on the tie breaker. Both chasing their first title at the 21st running of the event, they each started their respective third round of 4WD action from 7th on the grid with Maifield up first and getting a third while in the next encounter Tebo despite giving away his lead in the race with a mistake got lucky in the final lap to claim his second win of 4WD.  In the third race defending Champion Ryan Cavalieri, starting from the front row of the grid, would cruise to an easy victory to register his first 4WD win.  Moving the Associated driver up to third in the standings back ahead of Joern Neumann, with dropped scores the Californian sits 3-points adrift. Former champion Neumann is a further 2-back, both drivers needing both good results and bad rounds for Maifield and Tebo to get back in the hunt for adding another Reedy Race title to their CVs.


Race 1 had an all HB front row with David Ronnefalk on pole with Ty Tessmann along side.  Tessmann took the lead on the opening lap and pulled clear while Ronnefalk came under pressure from Maifield with Neumann also joining the fight.  Coming out of the Associated Esses, the Swede would get his D413 out of shape at the double delaying Maifield and allowing the Durango of Neumann to pass them both with 4-laps to go.  Behind the German the battle was now for third and on the last lap a mistake on the landing off the triple from Ronnefalk would allow Maifield through to complete the Top 3.


The second encounter, which was delayed when Karri Salmela broke during a false start caused by Dustin Evans, it was front row starter Atsushi Hara who lead for the opening 6-laps.  With Tebo on his rear wing, the S-Workz driver would get the landing at the triple wrong with Tebo not needing an extra invitation to move to the front.  Looking in control of things but with a hard charging Drew Moller having also got passed Hara, a mistake from the 2WD World Champion at the right hand double on lap 10 would let the HB driver go to the front.  The 18-year-old looked as if he had enough to see off the Zx6 but again the triple would change the order as Moller rolled and Tebo went by for the win.


Race 3 was to be only a formality of Cavalieri as he started from the front row. Cruising to a 5.4 second win the only drama for the multiple World Champion was when he collected the upside down car of Hupo Honigl on his last lap after the triple but no damage was done. Behind, Dakotah Phend who started third took second ahead of Kody Numedahl.

View our event image gallery here.


January 25, 2015

New in the Pits – Serpent

YouTube Preview Image

Serpent are debuting a pre release version of their all new SRX-4 1/10th 4wd buggy here at the Reedy Race. Being run by the car’s designer Billy Easton it features a 2-belt configuration with a long centre belt and short side belt, which helps keep the centre of gravity low and the weight centralised. Positioning of the motor was a priority when designing the car, keeping it centralised and to the rear to help with rear traction which in turn allows you to run a more aggressive steering setup.


Utilising a saddle pack configuration, it still manages to be a very narrow and neat setup, similar in appearance to a 2wd buggy, something the car’s designer was aiming for. Sporting a carbon fibre chassis plate, and shock towers, the steering uses a double bellcrank system which is actuated by the lay down servo and sports fully adjust ackermann on both the steering system and the steering arms.


Adjustable diff heights front and rear allow you to take away or create grip, while belt replacement is a breeze both for the short side belt and the main front belt, with the front belt needing 6 screws to remove the cover, the same process needed to change the front differential. Expect the car to be released in mid March.

Image Gallery


January 25, 2015

Chassis Focus – Joseph Quagraine


Chassis – Schumacher K1 Aero
Motor – LRP X20 8.5T
ESC – LRP Flow
Battery – LRP  5800mAh Saddle pack
Tyres – Pro-Line Electron MC
Radio/Servos – Sanwa/Savox
Body – Kit body
Remarks – New Schumacher signing JQ is using the British company’s K1 Aero car here in the Reedy Open class. Only having tested the car on clay for the first time in California prior to the event he has already made some adjustments to the car including adding 5mm underneath the front outer upper link and raising the steering knuckle by 2mm, while also adding a further 2mm to the Ackermann ball mount, which all together make the car better on the clay surface. In terms of setup he added more rear toe to the car to help get some solid results at the start of qualifying but has tuned that out of the car to try and help him go faster. He has also lowered the chassis by 1mm to help make the car easier to drive.

Image Gallery