August 18, 2007

Leino TQs 1:10 200mm Euros

Leino TQs 1:10 200mm Euros

In a less dramatic that expected final round of qualifying for the 2007 EFRA 1:10 200mm European Championships in Madrid it is Teemu Leino who is the Top Qualifier. The flying Finn improved on his provisional overnight pole time by almost a second in this morning’s fourth and final heat but was never seriously challenged for the TQ time as the track conditions were much hotter than expected.

Serpent’s Oscar Cabezas did improve his time as expected but it was not enough to deny Leino and Team Xray their first 1:10 Nitro European Championship TQ honours.

Biggest improvement this morning came from Dutch driver Jilles Groskamp who improved his time by 4 second for third position and secures a place in Sunday’s all important Main Final. Making it two Xray’s and two Serpent’s that will occupy the front two rows of the grid, young Italian talent Alessio Mazzeo will line up fourth with his Max powered 720.

Leino TQs 1:10 200mm Euros

Another major improver in the final heat was Britain’s Darren Johnson who broke into the 16 second laps for the first time and will start from pole for one of the Semi Finals as the leading Team Magic driver. Top Mugen starter is Italy’s Guiseppe D’Angelo who improved his time this morning to end up 7th fastest just ahead of Serpent’s Mark Green.

Reigning European Champion Dario Balestri looks to have his work cut out for himself if he is to defend his title after qualifying a disastrous 26th. Others facing a challenge to make the Main Final are Michael Salven (13th), Martin Hudy (16th) and Rick Vrielijnck (23rd) .

Final Qualifying Result
1. Teemu Leino – Xray – 18 laps in 5:06.772
2. Oscar Cabezas – Serpent – 18 laps in 5:08.371
3. Jilles Groskamp – Xray – 18 laps in 5:08.931
4. Alessio Mazzeo – Serpent – 18 laps in 5:09.569
5. Darren Johnson – Team Magic – 18 laps in 5:09.612
6. Adrien Bertin – Kyosho – 18 laps in 5:09.880
7. Giuseppe D’Angelo – Mugen – 18 laps in 5:10.332
8. Mark Green – Serpent – 18 laps in 5:10.968
9. Juanito Hidalgo – Team Magic – 18 laps in 5:11.315
10.Josue Artiles – Mugen – 18 laps in 5:11.400
11.Daniel Tomaschko – Serpent – 18 laps in 5:11.525
12.Francesco Tironi – Kyosho – 18 laps in 5:11.911
13.Michael Salven – Serpent – 18 laps in 5:11.996
14.Martin Christensen – Xray – 18 laps in 5:12.200
15.Javier Hidalgo – 18 laps in 5:12.243

View our image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: