August 19, 2007

NEWS FLASH – Balestri takes the title

NEWS FLASH - Balestri takes the title

The race is just over and the 2006 European 1/10th scale Champion Dario Balestri has retained his title after a great finals day that saw him move up from the quarter finals to claim a place in the final. The young Italian racer finished ahead of Xray racer Jilles Groskamp in 2nd with European B Champion Alessio Mazzeo finishing in 3rd. Pole position man Teemu Leino led for just a few laps and was quickly passed by Oscar Cabezas, who then led for close to 10 minutes until running out of fuel handed the lead to Alessio Mazzeo. A very fast Dario Balestri got past Mazzeo for the lead and never looked back and in the closing stages Mazzeo was passed by Jilles Groskamp who claimed the 2nd spot.

European Championships
Madrid, Spain
Open Final Result

1. Dario Balestri – Team Magic – 153 laps in 45:14.866
2. Jilles Groskamp – Xray – 152 laps in 45:17.457
3. Alessio Mazzeo – Serpent – 151 laps in 45:01.035
4. Teemu Leino – Xray – 151 laps in 45:01.664
5. Guiseppe D’Angelo – Mugen – 151 laps in 45:09.004
6. Oscar Cabezas – Serpent – 151 laps in 45:11.246
7. Martin Hudy – Xray – 149 laps in 45.13.604
8. Niki Duina – Xray – 142 laps in 45.04.138
9. Martin Christensen – Xray – 140 laps in 45.12.048
10. Adrien Bertin – Kyosho – 103 laps in 33.04.688
Fastest lap – Dario Balestri – 16.776

Download the complete final results here (PDF). Qualifying list is also available here (PDF).

View our image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: