February 10, 2014

Denney & Mitch win at JConcepts Indoor Nats

Mod Podium

Team Associated’s Tanner Denney and Team Losi Racing’s JR Mitch claimed the big wins at the opening round of the JConcepts Indoor National Series in St.Louis.  Winning the third A-Main of 2WD Buggy, having won A2, Top Qualifier Denney claimed an important win for Associated’s all new B5 on its debut race weekend while Mitch also backed up his A2 win in 4WD Buggy to claim the overall win with his TLR22-4.  Joining them on the podium Steven Hartson & TLR’s JP Richards finished 2nd & 3rd respectively in 2WD while Denney claimed second in 4WD with Xray’s Josh Wheeler completing the overall Top 3 on the fifth running of the Winter Indoor Nationals at the SmacTrac.


With everything still to play for in A3, Denney, Hartson and Richards were in contention for the overall 2WD win, Denney almost threw away his chances before the final encounter even started.  In the warm-up, with his view blocked by marshals going to their posts, he would crash very heavily into one of the i-beams on the perimeter of the track.  Continuing the lap it was discovered he had broken a front arm.  Calling it an ‘novice move’ and believing from the sound of the impact that he had actually completely broken the car, he said the ‘organisers were nice enough’ to give him time to replace the arm allowing him to take up his pole position for the race start. Leading away the 11 car field the 18-year-old Arizona driver would lead the race from start to finish. Only having to push hard for a time in response to team-mate Hartson moving into second, he said he was happy to take the overall win on such a significant weekend for his team albeit it with a plain white bodyshell.

JR Mitch

Going into the final leg of the 4WD A-Main it was also a three way battle for the win with Mitch, Denney and TLR’s Cody Hollis thanks to a second A2 in contention.  Unfortunately for Top Qualifier Hartson, two difficult legs meant the World Champion had no chance of the win.  Having had a disastrous opening lap in A2, he led away the field and looked to have things under control to at least salvage one win but landing his B44.2 into the corner piping in the centre of the track, this would allow Mitch to the front where the Florida driver would stay to the end with Hartson second and A1 winner Denney third.  His first time to race at SmacTrac, Mitch was very happy to take the overall win.  As he had hoped for after his A2 win the track was again watered ahead of the round.  Describing his buggy as ‘really good’ in stickier track conditions, he said the race went to plan with his focus being to just stay ahead of Denney, the Associated driver admitted himself afterwards that he ‘totally blew out’ in the encounter.


In the truck classes Hartson took the top honours in Mod Truck with his T4.2, while Mitch took home a second winners trophy taking the spoils in 4WD Short Course with his SCTE.  In 2WD Short Course Luke Richards took his Kyosho to the win.

2WD Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Results
1.(1) Tanner Denney – Team Associated – 22/5:08.841
2.(4) Steven Hartson – Team Associated – 22/5:11.311
3.(2) JP Richards – Team Losi Racing – 21/5:04.388
4.(5) Brent Thielke – Team Associated – 21/5:06.655
5.(6) Cody Hollis – Team Losi Racing – 21/5:07.398
6.(7) Trevor Nault – Team Associated – 20/5:09.205
7.(3) Taylor Larsen – Team Losi Racing – 21/5:09.519
8.(10)Luke Richards – Kyosho – 21/5:12.367
9.(9) Matt Gosch – Team Associated – 20/5:13.719
10.(8)JR Mitch – Team Losi Racing – 19/5:02.498
11.(11)Daimon Borkowicz – Team Associated – 19/5:08.193

2WD Buggy Overall Result
1. Tanner Denney – Team Associated – 200 pts
2. Steven Hartson – Team Associated – 199
3. JP Richards – Team Losi Racing – 197
4. Brent Thielke – Team Associated – 194
5. Taylor Larsen – Team Losi Racing – 194
6. Cody Hollis – Team Losi Racing – 193
7. Trevor Nault – Team Associated – 188
8. Luke Richards – Kyosho – 187
9. Matt Gosch – Team Associated – 186
10.JR Mitch – Team Losi Racing – 185
11.Daimon Borkowicz – Team Associated – 182

4WD Buggy A-Main Leg 3 Results
1.(3) JR Mitch – Team Losi Racing – 22/5:09.097
2.(1) Steven Hartson – Team Associated – 20/5:04.928
3.(2) Tanner Denney – Team Associated – 21/5:02.659
4.(4) Josh Wheeler – Team Xray – 22/5:11.162
5.(6) Cody Hollis – Team Losi Racing – 22/5:10.543
6.(5) Mitchel Gardner – Kyosho – 21/5:03.924
7.(8) JP Richards – Team Losi Racing – 21/5:13.746
8.(7) Nick Gibson – Team Associated – 21/5:06.086
9.(11)Taylor Larsen – Team Losi Racing – 21/5:07.216
10.(9)Brent Thielke – Team Associated – 21/5:14.261
11.(12)Matt Gosch – Team Associated – 19/5:07.993

4WD Buggy Overall Result
1. JR Mitch – Team Losi Racing – 200 pts
2. Tanner Denney – Team Associated – 198
3. Josh Wheeler – Team Xray – 196
4. Cody Hollis – Team Losi Racing – 195
5. Steven Hartson – Team Associated – 195
6. Nick Gibson – Team Associated – 192
7. Mitchel Gardner – Kyosho – 191
8. JP Richards – Team Losi Racing – 187
9. Taylor Larsen – Team Losi Racing – 187
10.Brent Thielke – Team Associated – 186
11.Matt Gosch – Team Associated – 182

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: