March 5, 2023

Coelho takes 2WD at MIBO International

Bruno Coelho has taken the 2WD Buggy title at the inaugural MIBO International Race, the Xray star making his return to racing on carpet after more than 3-years and took the overall win ahead of up & coming talent Bartek Zalewski and Jessica Palsson.  Starting from second on the grid behind Top Qualifier Zalewski, Coelho would wrap things up early by taking the opening two A-Mains.  After a rough A1 and diff issues in A2, with a fresh diff in his Xray Zalewski would win A3 to secure the runners-up spot while a very consistent performance netted Schumacher driver Palsson a trio of second place that saw her complete the podium line-up.

‘It’s super nice to be back’, was how Coelho summed up his 2WD performance.  The Portuguese ace continued, ‘We were testing a lot here and getting back the feeling for racing on carpet so it has been a good weekend of racing’.  Asked about the performance of Zalewski, the World Champions said, ‘Bertek is driving well but we have known already for 4-years that he is a huge talent. He is getting better and better and I’m super happy for him’.

While Zalewski felt he ‘just made too many mistakes’ in the finals, the 16-year-old from Warsaw did have issues in A2.  Struggling with his Xray being very loose in the rear, an inspection afterwards revealed his diff had gone soft.  Replacing it for A3 he was able to deliver the win to secure second spot.  Summing up the result, he said, ‘I am very happy with my own performance and want to thank my sponsors Xray, Hudy, Hobbywing and Sundpadow for this supporting but especially Transfer Multisort Elektronik who help make it possible to attend these races’.

‘I’m happy with the weekend so far but I always want more.  Still it’s a podium’, was how Palsson summed up her third place in 2WD.  Asked how she felt her finals had gone, the 20-year-old Swede replied, ‘they all went good, 3 second places is good consistency so I had to pleased with that’. Behind Palsson, Max Gotzl took his Xray to fourth overall followed by Zsolt Bajusz and Martin Bayer.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: