April 30, 2023

Widmaier crowned Philippine Masters Truggy Champ

Sworkz’ Micha Widmaier has been crowned Truggy Champion at the Philippine Masters.  Taking the TQ honours having topped all four rounds of qualifying, the German dominated the 30-minute final despite loosing a front wheel.  One driver expected to push Widmaier for the win, unfortunately young Australian Jackson Beale’s challenge was over before it had really ever had a chance to happen.  The only driver to match Widmaier’s 40-second lap time in the final, the 17-year-old suffered very early troubles, an electrical lead issue eventually leading to his retirement.  With fellow Aussie Jordan Van taking over as the leading challenger behind the German, he too would have issues eventually dropping down the order to finish 9th of the 15 starters.  In the end, having opened up a comfortable lead, Widmaier cruised home for the title.  Behind, local racer Daniel Miranda took his HB Racing Truggy to second with the similar chassis of Kiwi Shane O’Connor completing the podium on the return of the Philippine Masters following a Covid forced hiatus.

Commenting on his win, a very pleased Widmaier said, ‘the car was on point, we just a small problem with loosing a wheel’.  Asked what happened, he replied, ‘I think it stripped the hex which made it loose and then the nut came off.   Luckily I had a big gap so I drove slow to get back to pit lane and make sure I didn’t damage the car.  I also wanted to complete the lap’ – the loop positioned just before the pit lane entry.  Still managing to rejoin in he lead with four wheels back on his Truggy, he said for the rest of the race he ‘didn’t push too much’ so as to have ‘no mistakes’.


1. MICHA WIDMAIER (1) – 43/30:37.107
2. DANIEL MIRANDA (6) – 41/30:00.224
3. SHANE O’CONNOR (5) – 40/30:08.064
4. APEX KIM (4) – 40/30:20.766
5. BEVAN BURNEy (11) – 39/30:39.717
6. JACKSON LOVELADY (7) – 38/30:21.391
7. MARK JOHNSTON (8) – 37/29:11.575
8. OGGIE TIU (14) – 37/30:20.024
9. JORDAN VAN (3) – 36/30:33.127
10.ANDREW GILLESPIE (13) – 36/30:40.874
11.RICKY TANGAN (10) – 35/30:03.012
12.RITCHIE SIA (15) – 26/23:57.510
13.SCOTT YANG (9) – 11/9:15.573
14.JACKSON BEALE (2) – 4/3:20.859
15.VINCE EDWARD FLORES (12) – 0 laps


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: